Letdown: Netflix on Tivo

I was thrilled at the news that Netflix was making their “Watch Instantly” feature available on the Tivo Series 3. I love Netflix. I love Tivo. I had every reason to believe that they, like a Reeses cup, would be two great tastes that taste great together.

The service launched today. I tried it out as soon as I got home from a long day at work and our last baby preparation class. Imagine my disappointment, then, when the episode of Heroes I fired up took over a minute to start up, and then only gave me audio with a black screen. Several more attempts at different hour-long TV shows produced the same result. I managed to score an actual video on some movies, but the video stuttering and indefinite pauses made the whole thing frustrating and rendered the shows unwatchable.

I got the first-day blues, but I’m hopeful they can fix whatever is going wrong. I can’t find any mention of similar problems anywhere else online, so maybe it’s just me. I just know I would LOVE for this to work, and my fingers are crossed. We’ve got a baby coming in February, so we’re not really expecting to leave the house much except for work. I’m really hoping the interwebs can provide my glorious streaming entertainments for the months ahead. For tonight, I guess I’ll watch a blank screen and listen to the action on Heroes old-school radio-style.

One Response to Letdown: Netflix on Tivo

  1. It’s probably the “just launched” blues. Netflix started streaming to my Xbox 360 and I’m loving it! The video quality isn’t as good as DVDs but it’s still an awesome service.

Leave a Reply

