Thankful

This morning, I was busted for never taking the time to actually sit down and write out what I’m thankful for in my life. I was told that this exercise is an act of thanks in and of itself, as it makes me keep a journal of answered prayers and met goals. I can’t argue with that. Therefore, here are the top five things I’m thankful for this year, in no particular order:

1. Maryalice. There was a time several years ago when I truly believed that I would live a quiet life of solitude, in the midst of friends but still very much alone. I could not have been more wrong. Maryalice is an unbelievable blessing, and I honestly thank God every morning for giving me one more day with her. She’s the best wife, partner, and friend I could have imagined. I am excited beyond belief to raise our daugher with her, and to watch her grow into motherhood.

2. Abigail. We won’t actually meet her for another 10-12 weeks, but I already love this little kid more that I would have thought possible. Seeing her little face and pouty lip on the 3D ultrasound last week was a wake-up call, and I can’t wait to be captivated by the little cutie.

3. Work that matters. Simply saying, “I love my job” is such a weak, inadequate way to describe my feelings about the calling God’s put on my life. I am so grateful to Him for bringing me into a place and position in which I can play an active role in touching peoples’ lives in a practical, measurable way. Beyond that, the way that Dave Ramsey runs the company is unlike anything I’ve ever been a part of … or even heard about. In his EntreLeadership small-business training event, he explains it this way: “We don’t have employees. We have team members. Employees come in late, leave early, waste time, and steal from you. Team members participate in the vision of the company and know exactly how what they do matters to the whole organization.” That’s definitely true around our place.

4. My cats. Yes, I love my two cats. Seriously. Don’t judge me.

5. Financial peace. No, not the product Financial Peace University, but the actual state of being at peace in my finances. God got our attention in 2005 in the area of money, showing us very clearly how sloppy we were and how we were truly setting ourselves up for failure. Now, three years later after a LOT of hard work and focused intensity, we’re in good shape, have zero debt except our home (which should be paid off well before the 15 years), have a beautiful house (on which we put a good down payment), and have a solid emergency fund sitting in the bank. Moreover, we know what to do with our money. We have a plan, and we know exactly how to spend every dollar that God sends our way. We’re prepared for feast or famine, and we don’t really have any stress in that area. That’s an unbelievable blessing, and it’s definitely something we thank God for. (If you need some help in this area, check out the FPU link above or email me for info.)

God is good. My life isn’t all sunshine and roses, but it’s a better life than I ever imagined; probably a better life than I deserve. And for that, I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

