The DISC Profile Defined

For the past few months, I’ve been thinking more and more about what goes on inside my head, how I see the world, how I react and respond to other people, how I express emotion, and so on. Truthfully, parts of my personality and natural inclinations bug me a lot, and other parts of my personality bug other people. I suppose I’m wondering what kind of father I’ll be—beyond the geekery, that is.

This is something I will probably post about later this week as I work through some ideas. As a primer, however, I thought I’d come clean with you and reveal my DISC personality profile. For those unaware, the DISC assessment, as defined by Wikipedia, is “the four quadrant behavioral model based on the work of William Moulton Marston Ph.D. (1893 – 1947) to examine the behavior of individuals in their environment or within a specific situation. DISC looks at behavioral styles and behavioral preferences.”

Basically, the DISC assessment asks a series of questions and then plots your personality type in a quadrant model. The four quadrants are:

D – Dominant. This depicts a hard-charging, bold, bottom-line driver. This is your typical “GO GO GO” business leader, who takes care of business and gets results, but often leaves a trail of broken bodies behind him. The D person is task oriented and fast moving.

I – Influencing. This depicts the good natured, expressive, emotional, and outgoing person. This is the life of the party—and there’s always a party. The I person loves people, loves being around people, loves meeting new people, and draws energy from interactions. He is people oriented and fast moving.

S – Stable. This depicts the steady, loyal, amiable, and calm person. The S person is even tempered, hates conflict, and wants everyone to get along. He’s slow to act, but loves people and values close relationships. So, he’s people oriented and slow moving.

C – Compliant. This depicts the detailed, logical, factual, and analytical person. This is the one who is often characterized as resistant to change, too rigid, and much too reliant on routine and details. The C person is the rule follower, and always knows as much about the subject at hand as possible. This person is task oriented and slow moving.

I’ll follow up tomorrow or Wednesday by posting my DISC results and what they mean. If you’re a blog reader who actually knows me, instead of just a welcome guest who found me on Google, these results may explain a LOT. In the meantime, I’d be interested to hear your DISC predictions. Let’s hear it, people… what do you think is wrong with me? Respond in the comments. Friends from work who’ve seen my chart, don’t spoil it!

2 Responses to The DISC Profile Defined

  1. Maryalice says:

    I know! I know! I know!!!

  2. Jill says:

    You are so a C!!!

Leave a Reply

