Next Avengers: New Animated Movie from Marvel

Saturday, after an unimaginably tortuous morning of yard work and home pesticide application, I got cleaned up and fell into my comfy sofa to watch Marvel’s new animated, straight-to-DVD move, Next Avengers. Expectations were extremely low for this. I hadn’t heard much about it, other than that it was a “what if?” tale that featured the young children of Marvel’s mightiest band of heroes. Back hurting and stomach grumbling, I stuffed my sandwich in my mouth and hit “play.”

What a great surprise. This is a really, really good superhero coming-of-age story. As I discussed in a previous post, I’m starting to keep an eye out for the kid-friendly state of comic book movies and cartoons. I want my children to be able to enjoy these stories as much as I did as a little boy. With that in mind, Next Avengers delivers the goods. It’s a great story with solid animation, and it gives an enjoyable, sometimes humorous/sometimes disturbing picture of the fate of some of Marvel’s most popular characters.

If you have some little geeks running around the house, pull ’em together and watch this with them. It’s definitely worth watching.

Leave a Reply

