Top 10 Reasons I Hope Wedge is a Girl

Okay, following up on yesterday’s Top 10 list, here are the top 10 reasons I hope Wedge is a girl:

10. Somewhere deep down, I’m convinced that I’m “that guy” who will always be surrounded by a houseful of women.

9. I’m a relatively boring guy, and I need others to inject drama into my life.

8. I’m 6’5″ and 215lbs. Teenage boys would love to see me answer the door when they come to pick up my daughter for a date.

7. Chicks dig me.

6. It might be my calling to add to the world’s female geek population.

5. Tying french braids is an important life skill that has so far escaped my attention.

4. I’m sure the toy store has a girls section, but I swear, I’ve never seen it.

3. Every man secretly needs more pink in his life.

2. Adding another little Maryalice to the world would be a gift to humanity.

1. Most importantly, the number one reason I hope Wedge is a girl is…

5 Responses to Top 10 Reasons I Hope Wedge is a Girl

  1. Jennifer says:

    You know, if you call your kid wedge, the kids will just call him/her wedgie… poor kid
    is named after an uncomfortable underwear situation! Geeesh.

  2. Maryalice says:

    Wedge is just the fetal name. At least, it better be. I love that my husband is a Star Wars geek, but I don’t love it that much. I drew the line at the Luke Skywalker costume in the birthing room (kidding, but I’m sure it’s just because he hasn’t thought of it yet). We find out what the baby is on September 19. At that point, it will be William or Abigail. If not, there will be pregnancy DRAMA!!!

  3. Allen says:

    Well, I am quite dramatic.

  4. Troy says:

    First, if you think that video is fiction, think again. I got it on Ethan’s very first diaper change, right in the face IIRC, with Missy looking on and laughing from her hospital bed.

    Second, choosing a nickname in advance is prudent. We had no such plan, and now Ethan answers to “Pants”. See, it started out as “Grumpy-Pants”, which spread to “Hungry-Pants” or “Stinky-Pants” and was finally shortened to just “Pants”. Sometimes I look at myself in the mirror and ask myself, “What have I done?”

  5. Maryalice says:

    Teenage Boy (looking up…. WAY up): Gulp, Uh, hi Mr. Harris, I’m here to, uh, pick up Abby and uh, go to the church prayer meeting followed by, uh, bringing her directly home.

    Geeky Dad (brandishing the latest iThingy): if you touch my daughter I will hack into your school’s database and give you all F’s. Better yet, I will have my geeky daughter do it as one of her chores.

    Teenage Boy: No, no! Anything but that! WAIT A SECOND…. your daughter’s a geek? See ya!

    Geeky Dad: go get him, Cat-Dog!!

Leave a Reply

